Home > English > Good-bye WCF Web API…Hello ASP.NET Web API

Good-bye WCF Web API…Hello ASP.NET Web API

With the new beta release of ASP.NET MVC 4, the old WCF Web API has now been moved to ASP.NET. We are still able to use the Web API without any dependence on MVC. You can even self host your Web API to remove even the need for IIS.

I have written a series of posts that cover the WCF Web API asd it is the transportation mechanism that I have chosen for my ORM-less data access framework called, Gofer. I am in the process of porting Gofer over to the ASP.NET Web API and I will have a series of posts that will cover and show the differences between the old and the new. I will also be adding some more advanced posts on using Gofer and taking full advantage of the library.

Finally, with this release, I will be making Gofer open-sourced as well as continue to release it via NuGet and will have SpecFlow tests for you to see the library and how it works.

If you want to make sure you are ready, I recommend you download SpecFlow and NUnit so that you can play with the code.

There is a lot going on right now and plenty of “goodness” to use in your next project, so stay tuned!

  1. Darin
    March 5, 2012 at 3:58 pm | #1

    Good stuff, Matt. I haven’t dug into MVC4 yet, but I’m lovin’ 3. Thanks for the post!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 193 other followers

