Home > English > Visual Studio 2010 RC and Silverlight 4 RC

Visual Studio 2010 RC and Silverlight 4 RC

One of the painful problems that I have encountered recently is trying to port our applications from Silverlight 4 Beta 2 to Silverlight 4 RC using Visual Studio 2010 RC.  It has been a very excruciating process.  Everytime I try and compile what worked perfectly fine in Visual Studio 2010 Beta 2 for Silverlight 4 now crashes Visual Studio 2010 RC.  I have found at least one work around that just very may well keep my sanity until Visual Studio 2010 is released on April 12, 2010.

The following are the steps I took to be able to build my applications:

  1. I used Blend 4 Beta!  Blend 4 will compile all of my projects and applications that are currently crashing Visual Studio 2010.
  2. I have noticed that I have to Clean and then ReBuild the solution in Blend 4, I can (most of the time) then run the application in Debug mode in Visual Studio 2010.  This is very important since I constantly changing code and wanting to test and debug.

That is it!  It isn’t sexy but it does get the job done.  I have submitted my Visual Studio 2010 logs to Microsoft as a bug and I am hoping that I will get a response from them as to what it might be.

Until next time, stay tuned….

Categories: English
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

