Home > English > Windows can’t activate right now

Windows can’t activate right now

I upgraded one of my laptops last weekend to Windows 8 RTM and I have been running into a problem with activating it.  Here are the errors that I was running into:

Windows can’t activate right now

If you go the Control Panel and try to activate this way you will receive another error:

DNS request not supported by name server

I did a little searching and came up with some good solutions.  I am not sure why I am getting this error but I have no problem fixing it with such a slick solution that I found here.  It is unfortunate that the activation wizard doesn’t allow you to change your key but at least this solution works.  The following are the steps required to get your Windows 8 RTM version activated:

  • Type Windows+R to bring up the Run dialog.
  • Type “Slui 3” and hit enter.
  • Enter your new key. (If valid you get: “Your product key works!”)
  • Click the Activate button.

This should get your version of Windows 8 working and remove the water-mark from the lower right of your monitor.

Hope this helps….

Categories: English Tags: ,
  1. prince
    August 27, 2012 at 3:20 am

    I don’t know where you find that instruction, but it works for me.
    Thanks

  2. Pankaj
    August 27, 2012 at 2:55 pm

    It did work me. Thanks

  3. dangergirl
    October 12, 2012 at 2:01 am

    Thank You! It worked!

  4. x
    October 27, 2012 at 11:41 am

    Brilliant! Thanks.

  5. October 29, 2012 at 2:58 pm

    awesome, worked great

  6. Matt
    November 12, 2012 at 12:32 am

    Thanks. Worked like a charm!

  7. November 12, 2012 at 7:45 am

    IT does work. I was getting frustrated about the Windows 8 RTM dual boot and ur suggestion solved the problem.

  8. abc
    November 23, 2012 at 8:10 am

    thanks…

  9. TIronman
    December 16, 2012 at 8:01 am

    thank you so much! i got it to work!

  10. Clearwaters employee
    December 23, 2012 at 12:08 am

    Thanks and now I need to get a real key after the trial now…

  11. KEK
    December 29, 2012 at 1:06 am

    THANK YOU!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  12. December 29, 2012 at 6:23 pm

    thanks a lot

  13. Sam
    January 20, 2013 at 7:20 am

    it works!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

