Home > English > Developing Windows 8 – Documents Library and your developer account type

Developing Windows 8 – Documents Library and your developer account type

In this next installment, I am going to cover a scenario that I ran into that I hope will mitigate any frustrations or problems you encounter when you are finally ready to submit your application to the app store.

In my application, I am providing a simple editor, call koFiddle, that allow you to type HTML and JavaScript and it will render the two using Knockout.  Well one of the features that I wanted to provide in the application, was the ability to open or save the code that you have typed.  I became apparent very early on in my development cycle that I was getting tired of clicking a button to open a file just to test my editor.

This is where I got the bright idea to use the Documents Library capability and just add File Type Associations for HTML and JavaScript files.  I went through the motions to get this setup and then wrote the correct code and test my application.  I decided that I would just use Roaming to support remember what the last files for each file types I had used and then programmatically load these files with my new found powers.

I finished testing my code and I felt that everything looked fine and should be easily acceptable for submittal to the app store.

Unfortunately, this was not the case because as soon as I tried to submit my application and it started its validation process, I received the following error:

 

It turns out that individual accounts are not authorized to use the Documents Library and you can only do this with a company account.  Here is a link to the documentation.

Naturally, this was very frustrating but it turns out that the solution was very easy for me.  I simply removed the Documents Library capability and File Type Associations declarations.

Next, I learned about the support most recently used (MRU) feature that is available.  You can read more about this here.  It was very easy for me to modify my code and make it work using this feature available in Windows 8.

In a future post, I will walk you through how I used the most recently used feature with just a slight variation from the standard samples shown in the link above.

Hope this helps…

  1. Scott Nimrod
    March 20, 2013 at 3:43 am

    What if I need other apps to access this file?

    • March 26, 2013 at 3:22 am

      You will be presented a listing of all the apps that support that file type.

  2. Scott Nimrod
    March 26, 2013 at 4:50 am

    There’s also FutureAccessList that you can use that will return a token id when you call it’s Add method.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

