Home > English > Windows 8.1 Preview and Unity3D 4.2 crashing

Windows 8.1 Preview and Unity3D 4.2 crashing

I have been enjoying working with Unity 3D on my Windows 8 machine.  I decided to put it on my other machine that is Windows 8.1 Preview.  I was able to install it without a problem but the moment that I tried to run the application it crashed.  I did a little searching on the Unity forums and came across the following suggestion:

1. Go to where Unity is installed. In my machine the location is: C:\Program Files (x86)\Unity\Editor\
2. Next type is the following into a command prompt and hit enter:

Unity.exe -force-d3d11

3. There you go, you should be good to go. I am not sure as to why this works but I am happy that I can at least access my projects from either machines.

Hope this helps!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

