Home > English > Chrome auto fills email and password

Chrome auto fills email and password

I have recently ran into a weird situation when testing some of my screens with Chrome.  Consider the following screen shot:

 

Screen Shot 2014-07-25 at 6.42.36 PM

 

As you can see, Chrome is auto filling my email address and password.  As this is a screen that I am designing, I was very surprised to see this behavior.  It took me a while but I found various solutions to the problem.  The one that I elected to use was more by choice of the designer I have built to create these screens than any other reason.

Place the following code before “Login Email”, as in my example:


<input type="password" style="display:none;" />

As you can see from the code above, we are basically creating an Input tag with the Type of Password.  We also set the Style to Display:None.  This ensures that it isn’t visible and fixes our issue with Chrome.

I hope that this is a temporary fix and that Chrome will work properly in the future but until then, we have ourselves a work around.

Here is a screen shot of the form now working properly:

Screen Shot 2014-07-25 at 6.52.45 PM

Hope this helps….

Categories: English Tags: , , ,
  1. August 10, 2014 at 7:05 pm

    So in this example are you creating multiple password fields on the screen and hiding the first one.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

